International Women's Day 2016

Women of Influence Awards & Mentorship Luncheon

AFETT’s annual observation of International Women’s Day is one of our signature events and is a highly anticipated event on the Trinidad and Tobago calendar.
Every year, our Women of Influence Awards draws a larger attendance and is deemed by all who attend to be a highly stimulating and rewarding experience.

This year, on Friday March 11, 2016, at the HYATT Regency Hotel, AFETT continued to honour local women who have made, or are making a positive difference to society.

Our 2016 Women of Influence are:


  • Social Entrepreneur - Akosua Dardaine-Edwards

  • Business Pioneer - Lisa Wickham

  • National Spirit - Elizabeth Talma-Sankar

  • AFETT Young Female Leader - Asiya Mohammed

  • Spirit of AFETT - Elise Farrell


Our 2015/2016 UWI Awardee was Gabriela Siewdhan.



AFETT hosted its first International Women’s Day luncheon on Saturday 07th March 2009. At our first IWD luncheon AFETT celebrated our nominated IWD Heroine, Dr. Nesta Patrick of the Rape Crisis Society for her work in “Making Women Winners”.


Since 2009 AFETT has continued to celebrate women leaders on an annual basis in observance of International Women’s Day. At each IWD function, AFETT hosts its annual “Women of Influence” Awards. This Annual Award tells the story of inspiring women who are high achievers in business life in Trinidad and Tobago. These women may be in the current business life, in social enterprise or may have made their contributions at any time in the history of Trinidad and Tobago.


AFETT’s mission is therefore to reflect and amplify the voices of outstanding working women; to share their stories of risk and success; to chronicle their growing political, economic and social influence and power; to celebrate their triumphs; and to identify and promote a new generation ofwomen leaders, along with role models and mentors for tomorrow’s leaders.


Women honoured by AFETT during our “Women of Influence” Award over the past six years include: 

Dr. Nesta Patrick 
Dr. Patricia Mohammed 
Ms. Angela Cropper 
Dr. Elizabeth Quamina 
Ms. Clotil Walcott 
Ms. Grace Talma 
Ms. Cheryl Bowles
Ms. Paula Lucie-Smith
Ms. Allyson Hennesy

Our 2015/2016 UWI APhotos below of our Women of Influence 2016, receving their awards from Mrs. Sharon Clarke-Rowley, wife of the Honurable Dr. Keith Rowley, Prime Minister of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.

Photo Gallery of Women of Influence 2016

WOI Awards & Prizes
WOI Awards & Prizes
WOI Schools' Registration
Some of our Ushers
School Registration
VIP - Mrs. Sharon Rowley
VIP Table
WOI Awardees
Cavelle Joseph - AFETT President
Women of Influence 2016
WOI Booths
Women of Influence 2016
Door Prize Winner
Door Prize Winner
Mrs. Sharon Rowley
School Registration
Thanking the Minister
Women of Influence 2016
Featured Speaker
Women of Influence 2016
VIP Table
School's Table
Thanking Mrs. Rowley
Akosua Dardaine Edwards
Women of Influence 2016
Women of Influence 2016

Thanks to our Sponsors

In 2012, AFETT expanded its Mentorship and Development Programme to include an invitation to our Women of Influence Awards Function for girls, ages 13 to 17 years, from secondary schools throughout Trinidad and Tobago. This provides these girls with an opportunity to listen to and meet exemplary female achievers in their various fields of work. As these women told their stories, they provided inspiration to these future leaders that they can pursue their dreams and achieve success through hard work and determination. This year, AFETT continued this tradition by having corporate companies sponsor schools. This year girls from 13 secondary schools throughout Triidad and Tobago shall be part of our Women of Influence Awards and Mentorship Luncheon.


We thank ou 2016 School Sponsors of WOI:


  • Ali Deonanan & Associates Limited

  • BG TT

  • Candice Gray-Bernard

  • East Port of Spain Development Company Limited

  • FLOW (Trinidad)

  • Germaine Gray

  • Grant Thornton Orbit Solutions Limited

  • Guardian Group

  • L&S Surveying Services Limited

  • Non Destructive Testers Limited

  • Oscar Francois

  • PCS Nitrogen


PO Box 1919, Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, Trinidad, W.I.
© Copyright 2013 the Association of Female Executives of Trinidad and Tobago. All rights reserved.